top of page

President’s Challenge Award Program

Welcome to the MSWG President's Challenge Award Program page.


Each month, the acting MSWG President will announce a President's Challenge for the coming month.   All MSWG members are eligible to participate.

The President's Challenge and its related Award Program are to be focused on member participation by ALL – a personal challenge for each member of individual woodturning goals and trying something new or different.

Let’s “turn” it into judgement-free fun - removing "whose woodturning is best" in skill or as a selection influenced by club politics or friendships, etc.

So, just turn, turn, turn and celebrate creativity, imagination and focused work!

President’s Challenges Award Level.jpg

Alternatives if you cannot attend the monthly meeting:

  1. Send your President's Challenge to the meeting with a friend or some other person.

  2. Send a photo of the item by email to photos@mswg.club along with any special notes.

Saturday, January 21, 2023

Any woodturning item that will fit in a 1-inch cube.

Miniature

Saturday, February 25, 2023

Any woodturning that a person, pet, or animal would wear in public.

Wearable

Saturday, March 25, 2023

Any woodturning that is in the shape of an egg. Does not have to be an Easter Egg.

Egg

Saturday, April 22, 2023

Any woodturnings that look a mushroom.

Mushrooms

Saturday, May 20, 2023

Any woodturning that represents Memphis In May International Festival 2023. For more information see memphisinmay.org.

Memphis in May

Thursday, June 1, 2023

Saturday, June 24, 2023

Any woodturning with a lid. This can even be a cricket cage that has a top to open it.

Lidded turning

Saturday, July 22, 2023

Any woodturning that can be used for serving human food.

Serving

Saturday, August 26, 2023

Any woodturning with a special texturing method.

Textured

Saturday, September 16, 2023

Any woodturning that is a plate, platter, or tray.

Plate / Platter/Tray

Saturday, October 28, 2023

Any woodturning that looks like a bird house.

Bird house

Saturday, November 18, 2023

Any woodturning that can be used as a Holiday Seasonal - Ornaments (must have been made in 2023)

Holiday Seasonal - Ornaments

Saturday, December 16, 2023

Any woodtring donated to the MSWG auction.

Woodturning Donated to Holiday Party Auction
bottom of page